Books for cooks: New food books to buy this spring

Lost your cooking mojo or looking for fresh ideas? Here are nine of the hottest new food books to add to your collection.

Cookbooks1Nathan Outlaw’s Everyday Seafood — If you’d love to cook more fish and seafood but don’t know where to start, Nathan Outlaw’s latest book is full of simple and quick-to-cook recipes. They range from soups and big bowlfuls (like monkfish stew) to seafood salads, ceviche and ideas for barbecued and grilled fish.

East London Food by Rosie Birkett and Helen Cathcart — Featuring in-depth interviews with some of east London’s hottest chefs and food producers, East London Food guides you on where to go, what to eat and how to cook it at home.

Korean Food Made Simple by Judy Joo — A fantastic beginner’s guide to Korean cuisine from celeb chef Judy Joo. There are traditional recipes for bibimbap, kimchi and Korean fried chicken, as well as contemporary dishes like spicy pork belly cheese steak, ‘Krazy Korean Burgers’ and fried fish with kimchi mayo.

Cookbooks2Sirocco by Sabrina Ghayour — In her second book, Sabrina uses store cupboard staples and bold flavour combinations to transform everyday dishes. A must for fans of Mediterranean and Middle Eastern cooking.

Malaysia: Recipes from a Family Kitchen by Ping Coombes — Inspired by her mother and the street markets in her hometown of Ipoh, MasterChef winner Ping Coombes’ shares recipes for Malaysian favourites like curry laksa, beef rendang, and sambal prawns. Her chicken satay recipe looks perfect for summer barbecues.

Basque by José Pizarro — José Pizarro takes readers on a culinary tour of the Basque Country and shares recipes for bite-size pintxos and heartier mains like suckling pig and beef cheeks in red wine sauce.

Cookbooks3Tasting Rome by Katie Parla and Kristina Gill — Food history buffs and Italian food enthusiasts will adore this detailed look at Roman food and culture. We loved Gill’s wonderful photos and the authentic recipes for cacio e pepe and suppli.

Low and Slow: How to Cook Meat by Neil Rankin — Perfect for Father’s Day, this guide to modern meat cookery has recipes for roasts, steaks, braises and BBQ favourites like ribs and beef brisket. It’s a carnivore’s handbook, but there are also great sauces and sides like ‘nduja and potato hash and fresh apple kimchi.

Elly Pear’s Fast Days and Feast Days by Elly Kurshen — Featuring over 100 flavour-packed recipes for fast days and feast days, this book is a must if you’re doing the 5:2 diet or just looking for new ideas for delicious, nutritious meals.

Nothing you fancy? Check out the latest food and drink releases on Amazon.