National Restaurant Awards: UK’s top 100 restaurants revealed

After a year-long break, the National Restaurant Awards returned last night with an event attended by some of the UK’s most celebrated chefs and restaurateurs. The UK’s top 100 restaurants, and a host of special awards, were announced at an awards ceremony at Allegra at The Stratford Hotel in east London.

The awards are voted for by an elite judging academy of over 200 experts from across the industry, including chefs, restaurateurs and food writers. The UK is split into 11 regions, with members of the academy voting for the top seven restaurants that they have dined at in the last 12 months, weighted in order of preference. The results are compiled, and the top 100 list is created.

Click to view the National Restaurant Awards Top 100 list.

This year, the top spot was taken by chef Mark Birchall’s multi-award-winning Lancashire restaurant, Moor Hall. The Angel at Hetton, also named Gastropub of the Year, came in second, followed by Core by Clare Smyth, House of Tides in Newcastle, and Simon Rogan’s L’Enclume.

Andrew Wong (A Wong) was voted Chef of the Year, while Tom Booton, the youngest chef to lead the kitchen at The Grill at The Dorchester, was this year’s Chef to Watch. The Restaurateur of the Year award, sponsored by OpenTable, went to Tommy Banks, chef-patron of The Black Swan at Oldstead.

Estrella Damm National Restaurant of the YearMoor Hall
The Service AwardDavies and Brook at Claridge’s
Outstanding Industry Contribution – Tom Kerridge
The Sustainability AwardSilo
Gastropub of the YearThe Angel at Hetton
The Best Restaurant in WalesYnyshir
The Best Restaurant in ScotlandOndine Oyster & Grill
The Best Restaurant in Northern IrelandOx
Restaurateur of the Year – Tommy Banks (The Black Swan at Oldstead)
Chef of the Year – Andrew Wong (A Wong)
Chef to Watch – Tom Booton (The Grill at The Dorchester)
Cocktail List of the YearHIDE
Wine List of the YearNoble Rot Soho
One to WatchThe Pem

Congratulations to all of the chefs and restaurateurs who were recognised in this year’s awards.